Close reading retell

In my last post, I talked about doing close readings with my Spanish 2s. I decided to combine the idea of a close reading and a retell all into one activity. The students read a story about a girl, Barbara, who was really clumsy and had a lot of accidents. (This was for the injury unit.) After reading the story and doing various comprehension activities, I asked the students to work in pairs. Borrowing a close reading technique, I asked them to pick out the 10 most important sentences of the story – no more, no less – and their story still had to make sense with those 10 sentences. In other words, I tricked them into summarizing (without calling it summarizing, which elicits moans and groans). Then, I asked them to illustrate each of their Spanish sentences from the story with a picture. This is how I was able to check for comprehension (again). This was an easy plan with no preparation required on my part, but I got some really great results. Here are just a few of the interesting – if a bit gruesome – retells I received.

photoretell1

A good example of what I asked students to do.

photoretell2photoretell3

This group amused me by pasting their ‘Barbara’ face into every one of their photos.

Leave a Reply

