Blended Learning Conference (Institute for Educational Development)

So it’s that time of year where I feel I am utterly overwhelmed with all the things I need to do… and also have a lot of free time due to the scheduling of school activities and a lack of students left to teach! Blogging is one of those things that I think, ‘Oh, I’ll get to that’ and then never do, until I have something to trigger me.

In this case, I went to a blended language learning conference in Omaha yesterday. I was a little worried at first because I couldn’t find much information on the instructor, Debbie Roberts, or on this particular conference. Since I was paying my own way and taking a precious spring day off of work, I was hoping it would be worth my time. Considering I am someone who is pretty well versed in technology, I was also concerned that it would be similar to the PD we’ve had here at my school about app/web basics like Google, Evernote, Prezi, Kahoot, (Duolingo and Quizlet for language teachers), etc. I know about those – I was looking for something more.

Thankfully, the conference exceeded my expectations. It turned out that there wasn’t much information on this particular conference because it was the first time our instructor had presented! (She did have extensive presentation experience on general ed tech as well as being a master language teacher.) I also really liked the fact that she is someone who is still an active teacher. I feel it gives more credence when someone can say ‘I did this lesson on Thursday’ versus ‘I did this lesson 5 years ago’.

In any case, here is a summary of my favorite new ideas. This blog post is coming from a perspective of someone who is handy with technology and is looking for some new twists on old ideas. (After all, solid teaching is solid teaching, with or without tech.)

Slidesnack – Last year (when I still gave grammar notes) I used a regular powerpoint + screencast-o-matic. Although SOM is a perfectly fine tool, I felt it was a little unwieldy when trying to use it to record a verbal lecture at the same time. Slidesnack basically does the same thing (allows you to record over a presentation) but I wonder if it’s more versatile.

Powtoon – I’m already familiar with Powtoon, but it warrants a mention because it is a wonderful storytelling tool for both teachers and students. When students get bored of the regular text stories, sometimes a simple Powtoon spices things back up. Here is an example of a story I wrote for Spanish 2 to practice the present perfect.

Fotobabble – Fotobabble is like a simplified Voicethread. You can take a photo and record your voice. This would be great for narrating a story, or simply describing the picture verbally (and still allowing the teachers to have a record of what was said for assessment/credit/whatever).

Big Huge Labs – Big Huge Labs is a website with tons of options to create stuff with photos. Debbie showed us how to make a movie poster, but there are many options that could be easily transformed into language activities.

Sock Puppets – This is sadly only available as an iOS app, but could be great for those who have iPad carts or BYOD. This basically allows students to narrate skits and the sock puppets move their mouths to match the words (plus silly voice changing).

Autorap – Another app that allows you to record spoken text and then play it back with a sweet beat. I think kids could get a kick out of working on pronunciation and then playing it back in this silly way.

Besides these useful tech tools, Debbie’s workshop packet (book, really) has example lesson plans, rubrics for assessment, examples of IPAs (integrated performance assessments), and ideas for differentiating learning through tech. Although these ideas could be used for an entirely flipped classroom, everything I learned could be applicable in a traditional+tech, blended, or flipped environment. They also work for the entire range of classroom and teaching styles (grammar-based to pure input). This post is just a taste of what we covered – I would definitely recommend this conference to all of you!

Leave a Reply

