My summer vacation 2014

I want to start this post by noticing that people are still reading my site even though it’s the summer and I have questionably awesome content. You must be crazy, and for that, I love you.

School starts back up at East Butler for teachers this Friday. I’ve gotten to the point  – after 5 years, holy cow, how is this my 5th year teaching???? – that I no longer get freakishly freaked out in the last few weeks of summer. Previously, I would try to somehow smash all of the things I intended to do in the summer, but never did, into that last smidgen of golden summery goodness. I’ve chilled out since then. Things will get done. I’m actually far, far more productive during the school year. I’m lucky enough that teaching pays me enough (not having children also helps) so I can spend my summers mostly relaxing. The only big task I really have before the start of the school year is to remember to update my syllabi. I’m not even obsessing over rosters, like I normally do. Whatever kids walk through my door, I will say hola and we will learn things.

In honor of summer and feeling like I wasn’t a total loserslob, here is what happened to me (in slightly chronological order):

-My foster cat died. Sorry to start with such a bummer, but it is what it is. I specifically take older, special-needs-ish cats from the no-kill cat shelter where I volunteer (The Cat House – not to be confused with a brothel) and they don’t generally make it past a year with me. I have the perfect, quiet home for cats who mostly just want a lap to lay on. It hurts when they go, but I am so glad to give them a home for their last few months, rather than languishing in a shelter. Even if our shelter is way more hospitable than your average humane society.

-I started playing Marvel Puzzle Quest. I am still playing Marvel Puzzle Quest. I love me a good match-3 game plus nerdiness.

I went to the TPRS workshop in June. It was awesome and I can’t wait to really implement TPRS this year. It might be a disaster, but probably not.

-I had my first real ‘girl’s night out’ EVER. I am 28. It was everything I hoped it would be.

I put together my own computer. It turns out that the problem was my power supply keeled over. The new power supply just arrived today, but I can’t put it in at the moment because…

-I broke my collarbone on July 26th playing roller derby in Kansas. Long story short, I was skating, someone hit or pushed me from behind, I fell on my shoulder, my collarbone said OH SNAP! and that was that. It’s my first broken bone and really, the amount of concern people have for me is overwhelming. My doctor said that collarbones love to heal, and he’s right. It’s been a week and I am already back to about 60%. I will probably be back to normal by mid-August and hope to start exercising again by September, though I’ll miss the end of the derby season.

-I did not complete any video games this summer. None. I was too busy reading. I hope to finish Heroes 6 by the end of the year, though.

-According to GoodReads, I read 10 books this summer (though I’m in the middle of 3) including 2 books from A Song of Fire and Ice, which are like 4 books each. I’ve read over 7,000 pages in 2014, which is closing in quickly on my 10,200 from 2013. Getting through A Feast For Crows will probably put me over the edge by October. Too bad it will take me beyond forever to read it during the school year, since I can’t devote 6 hours a day to devouring books.

-I did a very minor amount of prep for school this year. I feel like, even though I am switching tactics – again – I have most of my plans already in place. I know what I’m doing, I just need to put the details on paper before I forget. The one big bummer is that I was finally, for really reals, going to go in a day early and attempt to organize the Sarlacc Pit known as ‘my corner’ in the attic of various sundry theatre items. But with a non-functional left arm, that’s just going to have to wait.

I am definitely in the throes of anticipation phase (though it kind of worries me that my profession has a professional looking chart noting that half of the school year is considered ‘survival’ and ‘disillusionment’) and am ready to start fresh with my kiddos next Tuesday. 2014-2015 is going to be the best year yet!

Leave a Reply

